The Better Home

Idea

Pearl Farming

Introduction

In my 13 years of experience in aquaculture, I knew I wanted to set up a business of my own. Not just restricted to fish farming, but something different. I started looking up on Facebook and YouTube for alternatives when I stumbled upon pearl farming. In school, we had learned about how natural pearls were formed. And since pearl culture wasn’t explored in my home district, I thought it would be a great idea for a business,” says Bijender.

Innovation

Pearl farming requires minimum labour and is extremely profitable as an additional source of livelihood since it can be practised even in a 10×10 feet pond. Once you’ve dug a pond, you can either use shells (oysters) from a local water body or buy them from a supplier at a meagre price of Rs 5 per piece.

Impact

With his pearl farming gaining momentum, he projects an additional income of Rs 10 lakh for this year